Skip to main content

Regional Steering Committee

Year 1 workplan adopted at the Regional Steering Committee

The first Regional Steering Committee (RSC) meeting was held in Arusha, Tanzania from 18 - 20 March.

The EAC Deputy Secretary General in-charge of Customs, Trade and Monetary Affairs, Hon. Annette Ssemuwemba inaugurated the meeting.

The RSC reviewed and adopted the EU-EAC MARKUP II Year 1 workplan.

Sixty participants including Mr. Sagoh Djete, Programme Manager, Regional Cooperation-Infrastructure from the EU Delegation to Tanzania and EAC, Ms. Dorothy Tembo, the Deputy Executive Director-International Trade Centre and Mr. John Bosco Kalisa, the Executive Director of East Africa Business Council attended the meeting.

Delegates from the project’s implementing agencies from the first phase including Solidaridad in Tanzania, Uganda Coffee Development Authority in Uganda and ICU in Rwanda were also present.

The RSC also adopted the terms of reference for the programme’s governance structures.

The EU-EAC MARKUP II governance structure provides strategic guidance for programme implementation. It holds a pivotal role in ensuring country level ownership, monitoring performance and comprises of National Steering and Technical Committees at Partner State level and Regional Steering and Technical Committees at the Regional level.